top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnna Scott

VOXPOP: HOW DO YOU USE THE NEW STUDY PERIOD?

This short piece was originally published on 22nd October, 2015 on my college WordPress site. I conducted this VoxPop to gauge popular opinion over a controversial timetabling change. In hindsight I can see that this technique could be simplistic. Perhaps this piece is a better indication of what opinions existed, rather than why they were held. Saying that, I think it is important to ask people's views. No one wants to feel ignored. The strength of a VoxPop comes, not from representing the entire population, but in the specific responses that can be gleaned from each participant.


The students at Central Sussex College in Haywards Heath hold strong opinions over the introduction of a new study period, colloquially known as P4. Reportedly introduced to increase funding, students are encouraged to complete homework during this hour. Timetabled in the middle of the day, P4 extends the hours that students are required to be in college. Met with a mixture of scepticism and enthusiasm, the overall popularity of P4 is gauged using VoxPop.


Lucy Williamson aged 16 from Burgess Hill makes good use of her P4 sessions.

“I find P4 so useful because I can finish all my work. It makes my life so much less stressful! So yes, I use it regularly.”

Will Hewitt, aged 17 from Haywards Heath, has other ideas.

“I never use P4, I think it is a waste of time. Even if I did want to do work in P4 I would not be able to. There are never any computers free in the library!”

Alex Whiteside is 17 and has an hour commute to college from East Grinstead.

“I don’t use P4 as I always forget to go. I guess I am just not in the habit yet. Also I would like to go home earlier instead.”

Zoe Smith, aged 18 from Ditchling agrees.

“I would much rather go home if I am honest. I prefer to do work at home because I always seem to get distracted in college.”

Rhys Jackson, aged 18 from Burgess Hill, holds a different opinion.

“Yes, I always use my P4. I would much rather get my homework done in college. Then I get to do other things when I am at home.”

Nicole Goodwin who is 17 and from Burgess Hill also finds P4 to be a good addition to the day.

“As I have a lot of science coursework to do, I tend to use P4. It means I can get more work done.”

Jenny Lee, aged 16 from Haywards Heath, uses P4 about once a week.

“I think I will use P4 more when it gets to exam season. At the moment I don’t have much work, so I don’t need to use it often. I think I will later in the year.”


Mixed opinion is to be expected in a college of over 1000 pupils. The success of P4 will undoubtedly change as it becomes an accepted part of the timetable. If it is true that it’s implementation will expand funding, perhaps the students can see it as a necessary addition to their college experience.

4 views0 comments

Subscribe Form

Stay up to date

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page