top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnna Scott

ADVICE FOR NERVOUS TRAVELLERS: PLAN AS YOU GO TO HAVE THE TRIP OF A LIFETIME



Planning, however ingrained into us, is not an essential part of travelling. I can feel scepticism wafting over from all the meticulous researchers out there, but stay with me. I am not telling anyone to abandon their plans completely. As a big fan of list-making I would be a hypocrite to say so. It is what you put on those pre-travel lists that, I believe, must change.


Before setting out on my first travelling adventure I sat down and counted my daily budget into individual coin bags. I diligently and unnecessarily packed and folded my clothes into an old rucksack enough times that I could have memorised the contents. It is fair to say that I was nervous. This is natural, especially when you are young and what you are about to do is wildly out of your comfort zone.


Over the 5 years that have since elapsed, I have unwittingly yet drastically changed my attitude to travelling. As I relaxed, my trips have morphed into free-spirited, if focused, adventures. I still read articles and consider my options, but now I do this as I go. For some, even this plan-as-you go style of travel may be too structured. But if you find yourself, like I did, overthinking what could be a fantastic adventure, then adopting a plan-as-you-go mindset is my greatest advice.


1. Focus on the ‘Big Picture’


Before you set off, there is a danger that attention to detail can weigh down your excitement. There have been times I have sat pouring over travel guides in full belief that unless I could find a bus timetable from A to B my trip was impossible! Yet I have found that extreme planning from the comfort of your home is not only stressful, but very rarely translates into your real-world experience.


Technology has transformed travelling. With so much information a few google searches away, there is little need to know everything in advance. So, lose sight of the specifics and get your gaze firmly fixed on the big picture: why am I going on this trip?



2. Hype it up

What will you do with all your time now you are not crafting a detailed itinerary of your trip? I say, channel your planning energy into something more fun. Remember what drew you to this destination in the first place, perhaps a famous hike? A travel vlog? Or purely the sheer promise of exploring!


Get lost in an internet rabbit hole of exciting things to do and see. But remember, don’t organise actually doing them. Sit in the excitement of possibility and relish the idea that you could do these things in the future.


3. Don’t prebook (within reason!)

Imagine this scenario. You are off living the reality you meticulously planned and of course, having researched so vigorously, you are staying in the coolest of hostels. You meet a group of like-minded travellers who invite you to join them at a little-known beach the next day. But alas, you have a coach booked at 10.30 sharp to get you to your next carefully selected destination! How frustrating. To avoid these disappointments, my biggest advice is not to book in advance.


Take this mentality with a pinch of salt. One major exception is for long-haul flights; clearly booking in advance will save you money. Overnight treks can also break the rule as many hiker huts have spaces in short supply. But as a general rule, your accommodation and transport will work out as you go.


Without a fixed time and date, I will put money on things slotting into place. Maybe a new friend will offer you a lift to your next destination? Or you will extend your stay to see some surprise live music. Your trip will adapt based on your current situation rather than your past decisions. How exciting!



4. Be interested

Letting your trip ebb and flow is, I believe, more rewarding if you are open to and interested in others. Without connections, what is it that will make you want to stay longer or seek out an unexpected adventure?


The stories of others will offer a more grounded and authentic guide than any book. Luckily, the stereotype that travellers love to tell their tales is often true. This makes total sense. It is natural that people will want to share all the mad and magical adventures they have experienced. So be open and listen. It is from these people that you will learn the most and their recommendations can form the backbone of your trip. This isn’t all take, the day will come when your stories will do the same for others.


5. Listen to yourself

Meeting incredible people will infuse your trip with much interest and excitement, but there may come times when it all gets too much. Perhaps the prospect of having yet another, “so where have you been?” conversation fills you with dread? Has one person too many invited themselves on your excursion? These are the times when it is important to listen to yourself. There is no shame in saying you need time alone.


With so much to do and see it is easy to feel like you must be on the go constantly. Yet to properly enjoy each experience you need to be rested. Occasionally take a day to stay in, read and write a journal. Through writing and reflecting you are truly able to process your adventures. Plus, when you are old and grey you can look back and laugh at your antics!


Without the pressure of an itinerary or prebooked hostels you will truly be able to tune in to what you want and need each day. Armed with great excitement for your destination and an open mind, you will have no trouble in filling your days. This could be the only time you ever visit this place, so plan as you go. With your nerves forgotten, you really will have the trip of a lifetime.

Subscribe Form

Stay up to date

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page